Red Queen (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Red Queen Cover Image
$12.99
Available online. Call store for local availability.

Staff Reviews


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

TRUST NO ONE! If only Mare can remember this. Mare lives in a world where the type of blood you have determines if you serve and barely survive or rule the kingdom. Mare has red blood and she must steal to help feed her family. Not only does silver blood rule but it comes with supernatural powers. A twist of fate puts Mare in front of the King and Queen and all discover she may have red blood but she has power. She is “something other”. Romance, intrigue, lots of action, and pulls you through to the end. Great book, highly recommend. Book 2 “Glass Sword” is available in paperback and “Kings Cage” is available in hardcover.

— Della McNamara

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

TRUST NO ONE! If only Mare can remember this. Mare lives in a world where the type of blood you have determines if you serve and barely survive or rule the kingdom. Mare has red blood and she must steal to help feed her family. Not only does silver blood rule but it comes with supernatural powers. A twist of fate puts Mare in front of the King and Queen and all discover she may have red blood but she has power. She is “something other”. Romance, intrigue, lots of action, and pulls you through to the end. Great book, highly recommend. Book 2 “Glass Sword” is available in paperback and “Kings Cage” is available in hardcover.

— From Staff Picks- Della

Description


The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

And don’t miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!

About the Author


Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies. You can visit her online at www.victoriaaveyard.com.

Praise For…


“A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.”
— USA Today

“Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.”
— Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

“A volatile world with a dynamic heroine.”
— Booklist

“Breakneck pace and engaging characters.”
— School Library Journal

“ [Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Fascinating world building... Readers will be intrigued by a world that reflects today’s troubling issues concerning ethnic inequality, unfair distribution of wealth, pollution, warfare, political corruption, and the frightening power of the media.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062310644
ISBN-10: 006231064X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Red Queen