Dan Unmasked (Hardcover)

Dan Unmasked By Chris Negron Cover Image
$16.99
Available online. Call store for local availability.

Description


This heartfelt middle grade debut about grief, creativity, and the healing power of friendship shows that not all heroes wear capes and is perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Ali Benjamin.

Whether they’re on the baseball field or in Nate’s basement devouring the newest issue of their favorite comic book, Dan and Nate are always talking. Until they’re not.

After an accident at baseball practice, Nate’s fallen into a coma. And if Dan ever wants to talk to Nate again, he’s got to take a page out of his hero Captain Nexus’s book, and do whatever it takes to save the day.

But heroes have powers—and without Nate, all Dan has is a closet stuffed with comics and a best-friend-shaped hole in his heart. There’s no way a regular kid can save the day all on his own. Right?

About the Author


Chris Negron is the author of several novels for children, including Georgia Author of the Year finalist and Sakura Medal nominee Dan Unmasked. His latest novel, Underdog City, released in the fall of 2023, again from HarperCollins. He holds a computer science degree from Yale University, but it was his years of playing Dungeons & Dragons in friends' basements that inspired him to write stories about the things he loves, including comic books, baseball, competitive cooking shows, and dogs. Visit him at chrisnegron.com.

Praise For…


Dan Unmasked is a grand slam of a debut: timeless, moving, and filled to the brim with heart. I can’t stop thinking about it.” — Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Dan Unmasked is about sports and comics but also about the complicated nature of guilt and grief and the healing power of community. A beautiful new addition to the middle grade canon." — Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound

"Stirringly hits every despairing low and thrilling high of a sports movie." — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062943057
ISBN-10: 0062943057
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 28th, 2020
Pages: 368
Language: English