The Heart Forger (Bone Witch #2) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Heart Forger (Bone Witch #2) Cover Image
Available online. Call store for local availability.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Bone Witch series.

Staff Reviews


The Heart Forger

By Rin Chupeco

Pub Date: March 6, 2018


I loved The Bone Witch, but The Heart Forger I would give 6 stars. It was that good.I have to say these are “my” type of books. I have read every genre and would stick to one style for years, now I read all over, so if someone looked at what I read, he or she would say I have a very eclectic taste. However, The Bone Witch and The Heart Forger are two of the best books I have read in a long time. Book one took a long time to build the world of an Aisha, light, and dark. The second book brings us more of Tea learning who she is and has the comfort of her brother and friends who help her. The second book starts with Tea on the beach, raising dangerous creatures while telling her story to a Bard. What a brave Bard. So we have a future and a past in the storytelling. Ms. Chupeco has brought the young Tea and now the more experienced Tea together along with all the wonderful other characters in the book. There is so much happening in these books, so much tension, excitement, which way is she headed, gray or dark. And the characters have so much personality that you fall in love with each one.  I loved the book and highly recommend it, but you must start with The Bone Witch.

— From Staff Picks- Della


"A sequel that builds in both thrills and enchantment." --Kirkus Reviews

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection--now she's after revenge...

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life...and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her--and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die...

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Thrilling and atmospheric, this bestselling series is perfect for readers looking for

  • teen fiction bestsellers
  • dark fantasy young adult series
  • stories with diverse representation and multicultural influences
  • original worldbuilding and captivating writing
  • books about witches

Praise for The Heart Forger:

"Rin's beautifully crafted world from The Bone Witch (2017) expands in this sequel, which joins dark asha Tea on her crusade of revenge...Dark and entrancing with a third volume to come." --Booklist, STARRED review

"A wonderfully original tale -- even better than the first...." --RT Book Reviews

"A dark, engaging fantasy series." --School Library Journal

The Bone Witch Trilogy:
The Bone Witch (Book 1)
The Heart Forger (Book 2)
The Shadowglass (Book 3)

Product Details
ISBN: 9781492635857
ISBN-10: 1492635855
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: March 20th, 2018
Pages: 528
Language: English
Series: Bone Witch