Chris Negron & McCall Hoyle- Adoption & Fundraiser Event!

Join us on Saturday, December 16th from 12 to 2 to meet two local authors and your new best friend. 

Is your child a big animal lover? Then we have the perfect event for them!  We have teamed up with a local dog foster group, Clovers in the Ruff to bring you a one-of-a-kind, author event. Chris Negron will be signing copies of his new book, Underdog City and McCall Hoyle will be signing new copies of her new book, Just Gus!

10% of the sales of Underdog City and Just Gus, will go to Clovers in the Ruff. Authors, books, and dogs! This is the perfect way to spend a Saturday!

Underdog City-

From the acclaimed author of The Last Super Chef and Dan Unmasked comes a heartfelt standalone novel about community, justice, and redemption, perfect for fans of Take Back the Block and Brave Like That.

Mortimer Bray is not okay.

It seems like everything in his life is changing for the worse. After his own much-loved dog dies, he can’t bring himself to carry on with his dog-walking business; there’s a strange new girl who’s moved into the house next door; and suddenly there’s a buzzing feeling of anxiety in his head, and heart when he’s faced with something new.

His neighborhood, Townsend Heights, used to feel like the most comfortable place in the world. But lately, it seems like everyone is arguing, and there’s uncertainty around every corner.

The neighborhood's only vacant lot is somehow behind it all, Mortimer is sure of that much. If he can unearth the lot's secret history, he just might stop the Heights from unraveling completely.

Mortimer can’t save Townsend Heights on his own. But when it comes to community, you’re never truly on your own—not as long as you’re willing to learn from the past, in order to do better in the future. 


Just Gus

Return to the world of devoted working dogs and the humans they love in a new book from the best-selling author of Stella.

Gus is a livestock guardian dog with one job--protecting his farm from coyotes and foxes. He likes keeping the sheep, the chickens, and his humans safe, and he's very good at it.

One day, Diego and his dad come to visit the farm, and Gus immediately connects to the small boy. They both like to sit still and enjoy the quiet, and Gus can tell that Diego likes being around a gentle giant of a dog, that it helps relieve the boy's constant worry.

When Gus detects the scent of a bear in the woods, he rushes to protect his flock, injuring his leg in a fight with the dangerous beast. Wounded, Gus needs to rest and heal away from his sheep, so he doesn't risk reinjuring his leg. Diego suggests Gus come home with them to the North Carolina coast.

Suddenly, Gus is thrust into a new world of saltwater and sand and neighbors who don't appreciate the presence of a large guard dog, like the neighbor who reminds Gus of his first owner--the junkyard man with the heavy boots.

Gus realizes Diego might need a friend as much as his sheep need a protector, but if he can't learn to control his instincts, like barking and patrolling the neighborhood, Gus might lose his chance to stay in his new home. If he can't protect the farm or his boy, Gus worries he might never find his place in the world.

Just Gus is a tender story of belonging and of two friends who learn they are better together than they were alone.

 

Clovers in the Ruff Dog Rescue

Animals Are Our Mission:

We focus on making the maximum positive effect. Our members and volunteers provide the momentum we need.  Using community-driven models, we take actions that make a long-lasting difference and find these precious Clovers a safe, forever home. For more information check out our website: https://cloversintheruff.com/

Event date: 

Saturday, December 16, 2023 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm

Event address: 

Underdog City By Chris Negron Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063251878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 31st, 2023

Just Gus By McCall Hoyle Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781639930937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shadow Mountain - April 4th, 2023