A Live Conversation with Mark Warren

Read It Again Bookstore is excited to welcome Mark Warren to our Live Author Conversations. Join us Saturday, March 13 at 7pm for a discussion about Wyatt Earp!  

You can join the conversation here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVjwoRQmNmY

What Made Wyatt Earp Tick? Many historians have attempted to dissect the personality of Wyatt Earp, calling him a complex man with contradictory callings. He was, in fact, a very simple man with a straight-forward demeanor. His physical prowess put him in a commanding position among other men, but his confidence and deliberation were the palpable forces that made others fear or admire him.

After 63 years of research, author and Western historian Mark Warren reveals the true nature of Wyatt Earp and explains why he has deservedly entered the pantheon of American heroes. His trilogy entitled Wyatt Earp, An American Odyssey is a story of balance, incorporating all the known facts about the famous peace officer’s life and his perspective on the principles by which Earp lived his life—and why he sometimes veered from that credo. Join us for a study of all things Earp!

About the books:

Adobe Moon – Young Wyatt Earp grows up on the Iowa frontier and learns the balance of servitude to a demanding father and the self-esteem of independent fortitude. In California he is introduced to an adage that will forever haunt him and his failed ambitions to be a businessman: that, like most men, he might have to settle for less. After a year of marriage his wife and child die, leaving him in a wasteland of misery that leads him into trouble with the law. Eventually, he pulls himself up and embraces an occupation for which he seems to be perfectly suited: an officer of the law.

Born to the Badge – As a policeman in Wichita and Dodge City, Wyatt earns a reputation as a no-nonsense officer who will back away from no man. The economy of these towns depends upon cattle drives from Texas and the roughshod drovers who accompany them. In the height of the cattle season, the towns bustle with activity, including wild drunken sprees intended to test the mettle of Kansas lawmen. Wyatt proves himself time and again as he faces down the likes of Mannen Clemens, Melvin King, and Clay Allison. In Texas he meets a man whose name will be forever linked with his own. Doc Holliday is a testy, Southern ex-dentist turned gambler, who is dying from tuberculosis. By giving Wyatt information about the train robbers, Doc offers the first thread in an unlikely friendship that will weave the two men’s lives into a common story that will be told through the ages. (Born to the Badge was honored as a 2019 Spur Award Finalist)

Promised Land – Drawn to the silver boom in Tombstone, Arizona Territory, Wyatt and his brothers start anew with aspirations to strike it big in business. Fate seems to have other plans for Wyatt, as he reverts to the foot-soldier status of a hard-nosed enforcer of the law. Enemy lines are drawn between the Earps and the cow-boy rustlers, finally culminating in the famed gunfight near the O.K. Corral. When the Earps prevail in this face to face battle, the cow-boys resort to midnight back-shooting, killing one Earp and maiming another. When the courts cannot adjudicate over perjuring outlaws, Wyatt Earp takes the law into his own hands and dispenses a personal justice that will elevate his name into American legend. (Promised Land was named an “Editor’s Choice” by the Historical Novel Society, and is a winner of the 2020 Will Rogers Medallion Award.)

Mark Warren-

Mark Warren is a graduate of the University of Georgia with a degree in Chemistry/Pre-med. At Medicine Bow, his school in the Southern Appalachians, he teaches nature classes and survival skills of the Cherokees. The National Wildlife Federation named him Georgia’s Conservation Educator of the Year in 1980. Warren has written extensively about nature and primitive survival for national and regional magazines. He is a member of Wild West History Assoc. and Western Writers of America and presents as Guest Historian at top Western museums around the country. His published books include: Two Winters in a Tipi (Lyons Press, 2012), a memoir, Secrets of the Forest (Lyons Press, 2020), a 4-volume series on nature/survival, Adobe Moon (Five Star Cengage, 2017), a historical novel and first in the trilogy Wyatt Earp: An American Odyssey, Born to the Badge (Five Star Cengage, 2018), second book in the Earp trilogy and “2019 Spur Award Finalist,” Promised Land (Five Star Cengage, 2019), third book in the Earp trilogy, honored as an “Editor’s Choice” by the Historical Novel Society and winner of the 2020 Will Rogers Medallion AwardIndigo Heaven, a novel of 1870s Wyoming (Five-Star-Gale Cengage 2021).

Event date: 

Saturday, March 13, 2021 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Promised Land Cover Image
ISBN: 9781432857271
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Five Star Publishing - October 16th, 2019

Born to the Badge Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781432848842
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Five Star Publishing - November 21st, 2018

Adobe Moon Cover Image
ISBN: 9781432838164
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Five Star Publishing - November 15th, 2017