An Online Conversation with Ellen Marie Wiseman

Read It Again Bookstore is very excited to welcome Ellen Marie Wiseman to our online author series.
Tune in November 5th at 7:30 pm EST. Ellen Marie Wiseman will discuss the parallels between her novel and today’s reality, the 1918 flu’s devastating impact on the immigrant population, the strange cures and preventive “medicines” used during that time (Formaldehyde tablets! Sugar cubes soaked in gasoline! Onions!), and the role of the Visiting Nurse Society of Philadelphia. You can join the conversation! Post a comment and we can share it to the video. 

You can watch this event here- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tA9f8gZr2Ek

Ellen Marie Wiseman

Ellen Marie Wiseman is the New York Times bestselling author of highly acclaimed historical fiction novels The Orphan Collector, What She Left Behind, The Plum TreeCoal River and The Life She Was Given, which was a Great Group Reads selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month. Born and raised in Three Mile Bay, a tiny hamlet in Northern New York, she’s a first-generation German American who discovered her love of reading and writing while attending first grade in one of the last one-room schoolhouses in New York State. Since then, her novels have been translated into eighteen languages and published worldwide. A mother of two, Ellen lives on the shores of Lake Ontario with her husband and dogs. She can be found online at: EllenMarieWiseman.com

From the internationally bestselling author of What She Left Behind comes a gripping and powerful tale of upheaval—a heartbreaking saga of resilience and hope perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kristin Hannah—set in Philadelphia during the 1918 Spanish Flu outbreak—the deadly pandemic that went on to infect one-third of the world’s population…

“Readers will not be able to help making comparisons to the COVID-19 pandemic, and how little has changed since 1918. Wiseman has written a touching tale of loss, survival, and perseverance with some light fantastical elements. Highly recommended.” 
Booklist


“An immersive historical tale with chilling twists and turns. Beautifully told and richly imagined.”
—Stephanie Dray, 
New York Times bestselling author of America’s First Daughter

The Orphan Collector-

In the fall of 1918, thirteen-year-old German immigrant Pia Lange longs to be far from Philadelphia’s overcrowded slums and the anti-immigrant sentiment that compelled her father to enlist in the U.S. Army. But as her city celebrates the end of war, an even more urgent threat arrives: the Spanish flu. Funeral crepe and quarantine signs appear on doors as victims drop dead in the streets and desperate survivors wear white masks to ward off illness. When food runs out in the cramped tenement she calls home, Pia must venture alone into the quarantined city in search of supplies, leaving her baby brothers behind.
 
Bernice Groves has become lost in grief and bitterness since her baby died from the Spanish flu. Watching Pia leave her brothers alone, Bernice makes a shocking, life-altering decision. It becomes her sinister mission to tear families apart when they’re at their most vulnerable, planning to transform the city’s orphans and immigrant children into what she feels are “true Americans.”
 
Waking in a makeshift hospital days after collapsing in the street, Pia is frantic to return home. Instead, she is taken to St. Vincent’s Orphan Asylum – the first step in a long and arduous journey. As Bernice plots to keep the truth hidden at any cost in the months and years that follow, Pia must confront her own shame and fear, risking everything to see justice – and love – triumph at last. Powerful, harrowing, and ultimately exultant, The Orphan Collector is a story of love, resilience, and the lengths we will go to protect those who need us most.

“Wiseman’s writing is superb, and her descriptions of life during the Spanish Flu epidemic are chilling. Well-researched and impossible to put down, this is an emotional tug-of-war played out brilliantly on the pages and in readers’ hearts.”
The Historical Novels Review, EDITOR’S CHOICE
 
“Wiseman’s depiction of the horrifying spread of the Spanish flu is eerily reminiscent of the present day and resonates with realistic depictions of suffering, particularly among the poorer immigrant population.”
Publishers Weekly (Boxed Review)
 
“Reading the novel in the time of COVID-19 adds an even greater resonance, and horror, to the description of the fatal spread of that 1918 flu.”
Kirkus Review

Event date: 

Thursday, November 5, 2020 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

The Orphan Collector: A Heroic Novel of Survival During the 1918 Influenza Pandemic Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781496715869
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - August 4th, 2020

What She Left Behind Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780758278456
Availability: Currently Unavailable
Published: Kensington - December 31st, 2013

Coal River: A Powerful and Unforgettable Story of 20th Century Injustice Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781496730015
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - April 28th, 2020

The Life She Was Given: A Moving and Emotional Saga of Family and Resilient Women Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781617734496
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - July 25th, 2017

The Plum Tree: An Emotional and Heartbreaking Novel of WW2 Germany and the Holocaust Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781496730022
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - January 28th, 2020