An Online Conversation with Jessica Handler and Mickey Dubrow

 

Read It Again Bookstore is very excited to welcome Jessica Handler and Mickey Dubrow to our online author series. Jessica and Mickey are good friends of RIA and book club favorites. This married couple is self distancing together in their Atlanta home with their cats, work and their library. This should be an interesting discussion about GA history, politics, vaudeville, and humor in dark times. Join us Thursday, April 23 at 4 pm. You can watch on our Facebook and YouTube pages. 

Jessica Handler is the author of The Magnetic Girl, an Indie Next selection, Wall Street Journal Spring 19 pick, Bitter Southerner Summer 19 pick, and SIBA Okra pick. She is the author of the nonfiction books Braving the Fire: A Guide to Writing About Grief and Invisible Sisters: A Memoir, which was named one of the “Twenty Five Books All Georgians Should Read” and Atlanta Magazine’s “Best Memoir of 2009.” Jessica writes essays and nonfiction features that have appeared on NPR, in Tin House, Drunken Boat, Full Grown People, Brevity, The Bitter Southerner, Electric Literature, Newsweek, The Washington Post, and More Magazine. Jessica is a lecturer in English at Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, and lectures internationally on writing craft.

Mickey Dubrow, author of American Judas, explores, among other possibilities, lost faith in America and what this might mean for the freedoms we cherish so much. This book is perfect for fans of Philip K. Dick’s The Man In the High Castle and Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. Mickey is passionate about telling stories with fresh, entertaining perspectives. He wants readers to feel excitement, sympathy, amusement, joy, and maybe even a little anxiety when they read his novels. Mickey also works as a freelance writer and producer for television, Mickey's clients include CNN, Cartoon Network Marketing, and SRA/McGraw Hill.

Event date: 

Thursday, April 23, 2020 - 4:00pm

Event address: 

Staff Pick Badge
The Magnetic Girl Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781938235481
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Hub City Press - April 9th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
American Judas Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781732539808
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Sfk Press - October 23rd, 2018

Invisible Sisters: A Memoir Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9780820348926
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: University of Georgia Press - September 15th, 2015

Braving the Fire: A Guide to Writing About Grief and Loss Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250014634
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - December 10th, 2013