What Waits in the Woods- Release Party!

Read It Again Bookstore is excited to announce- What Waits in the Woods- Release Party!

Join us on December 23rd from 12 to 2 for a very special release party. Techonally What Waits in the Woods doesn't come out until the 26th. We made special arrangements with Terri's publisher to let us sell What Waits in the Woods three days early! Our store will be the only place you can get Terri Parlato's new book until its official release on December 26th! So come meet Terri, pick up a copy of her newest book, and enjoy a glass of wine with us. It's going to be so much fun!

What Waits in the Woods

Her ballet career derailed by injury, a once-promising young dancer returns to her hometown only to face a grisly discovery – and the increasingly alarming realization that nothing from her past is quite what she believed – in this electrifyingly twisty suburban thriller for fans of Stacy Willingham, Greer Hendricks, and Megan Miranda.

When Esmé Foster left the Boston suburbs to become a professional ballerina, the future shimmered with promise. Eleven years later, her career has been derailed by an injury, and Esme knows it’s time to come back to Graybridge to help her brother care for their ailing father. But her return coincides with an unthinkable crime. Kara Cunningham, one of Esme’s high school friends, is found dead in the woods behind the Fosters’ house.

Esmé is shocked and grieving, but also uneasy. In her dreams, she still sees the man who showed up at the scene of the car accident that killed her mother—and told Esmé he was going to kill her too. Family and friends insisted the figure was a product of Esmé’s imagination, that she was concussed after the crash. But she and Kara looked alike, sharing the same petite build, the same hair color. Could Kara’s murder have been a case of mistaken identity? 

Detective Rita Myers is familiar with close-knit communities like Graybridge, where, beneath the friendliness, there are whispers and secrets. The town has seen other tragedies too, including the long-ago drowning of a young girl in a pond, deep in the woods. Even within the once-close circle of friends that included Kara and Esmé, Rita discerns a ripple of mistrust.

Day by day, Esmé discovers more about the place she left behind—and the friends and family she thought she knew. Soon, shining a light into the darkness to learn what really happened the night Kara died is the only way she can bring the nightmare to an end . . .

About the Author


Terri Parlato is the acclaimed author of domestic suspense, including All the Dark Places and What Waits in the Woods. Born and raised in upstate New York. She currently lives in a small north Georgia town with her husband and dog, Lucy. For more information, visit her online at TerriParlato.com.

Praise For…


Praise for ALL THE DARK PLACES:

“A creepy debut most notable for the nightmares it finds beneath apparently untroubled surfaces.” —Kirkus Reviews

“An inexplicable murder kicks off Parlato’s gripping debut…Assured pacing matches accomplished characterizations. Parlato is off to a strong start.” —Publishers Weekly

“Part police procedural, part domestic suspense, All the Dark Places provides mystery fans with the reading experience they crave.” —Brian Kenney, First Clue

“This debut novel is well crafted and hooked me in the first chapter…The plot is deeply involved with several twists to the story to keep readers captivated to its dramatic conclusion.” —Mystery & Suspense Magazine
 
"Terri Parlato's debut All the Dark Places checks all the right boxes for domestic suspense fans. This chilling whodunnit hooked me on the first page and kept me guessing to the last." —Wendy Corsi StaubNew York Times bestselling author
 
All the Dark Places by Terri Parlato is a must read for anyone who loves a good mystery!  The suspense was spine-tingling and the characters were interesting but believable.  I loved this book and had to force myself to lay it aside at night.  Seriously, a must read!” —Lisa Jackson, # 1 New York Times bestselling author

Event date: 

Saturday, December 23, 2023 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm

Event address: 

3630 peachtree pkwy
suite 314 - Read It Again Bookstore
Suwanee, GA 30024
What Waits in the Woods: A Chilling Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist By Terri Parlato Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781496738592
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - December 26th, 2023

All the Dark Places: A Riveting Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist By Terri Parlato Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781496738561
Availability: Available online. Call store for local availability.
Published: Kensington - December 27th, 2022